the study of the kicking components within sports

Thursday, April 4, 2013

A Dearth of Field Goals

Back in the day, the annual football schedule was shorter, attempted field goals were fewer, and the odds of missing a kick were greater than the odds of making one. Consequently, the below list of Annual Field Goal Leaders from 1920 to 1932 has some very low numbers compared to modern NFL standards. For comparison, the Oakland Raiders and the St. Louis Rams were tied for most successful field goals in 2010 with 33 each. In 2005, Neil Rackers made 40 field goals, setting the record for most in one season. Two years ago, David Akers broke that record (along with the single season scoring record), making 44 field goals. The closest thing to a field goal machine in the 20's was John "Paddy" Driscoll, the only player to lead the league with field goals numbering in double digits - something he did three times.

Year Player, Team FGs
1920 Dutch Sternaman, Decatur  3

Jim Thorpe, Canton  3
1921 Dutch Sternaman, Chicago  5

Elmer Oliphant, Buffalo  5
1922 Paddy Driscoll, Chi. Cardinals  8
1923 Paddy Driscoll, Chi. Cardinals  10
1924 Joey Sternaman, Chicago  9
1925 Paddy Driscoll, Chi. Cardinals  11
1926 Paddy Driscoll, Chicago  12
1927 Ken Mercer, Frankford  5
1928 Harry O’Boyle, Green Bay  3
1929 Chuck Weiser, Buffalo  3
1930 Frosty Peters, Prov-Portsmouth  2
1931 Ken Strong, Staten Island  2
1932 Dutch Clark, Portsmouth  3

No comments:

Post a Comment