the study of the kicking components within sports

Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Lou Groza Award 2012 Preseason Watch List

The Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award announced the 2012 Preseason Watch List. Kickers on the Lou Groza Award Watch List were chosen based on statistics from the 2011 season and 2012 expectations. Ten conferences are represented among the 30 kickers, led by seven from the Big Ten. The SEC follows with six, along with four each from the ACC and the Pac-12. The Big 12, Conference USA and Sun Belt each placed two representatives, while the Big East, MAC and Mountain West each had a kicker recognized. 

While the Watch List highlights thirty of the best returning kickers in the country, the Groza Committee will be watching all FBS kickers during the season. The winner will be announced on Thursday December 6th during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Award Show.
  • Drew Alleman, LSU
  • Brett Baer, Louisiana-Lafayette
  • Drew Basil, Ohio State
  • Tyler Bitancurt, West Virginia
  • Maikon Bonani, South Florida
  • Chandler Catanzaro, Clemson
  • Dan Conroy, Michigan State
  • Mitch Ewald, Indiana
  • Anthony Fera, Penn State
  • Andrew Furney, Washington State
  • Brendan Gibbons, Michigan
  • Jack Griffin, Florida International
  • Andre Heidari, USC
  • Parker Harrington, Air Force
  • Zach Hocker, Arkansas
  • Dustin Hopkins, Florida State
  • Michael Hunnicutt, Oklahoma
  • Ty Long, UAB
  • Brett Maher, Nebraska
  • Craig McIntosh, Kentucky
  • Mike Meyer, Iowa
  • Jimmy Newman, Wake Forest
  • Cody Parkey, Auburn
  • Quinn Sharp, Oklahoma State
  • Jeremy Shelley, Alabama
  • Caleb Sturgis, Florida
  • Matt Weller, Ohio
  • Jake Wieclaw, Miami (FL)
  • Jordan Williamson, Stanford

No comments:

Post a Comment