the study of the kicking components within sports

Monday, November 5, 2012

Groza Award 2012 Semifinalists

Press release from The Palm Beach County Sports Commission: the 20 kickers listed below have been named semifinalists for the 2012 Lou Groza Collegiate Place‐Kicker Award presented by the Orange Bowl Committee. These twenty kickers have all excelled throughout the season in earning their places as semifinalists.

Semifinalists will be voted on by FBS Head Coaches and SIDs, along with national and regional football writers, and past Groza winners to select the three finalists. These finalists will be announced on November 19th and honored at the 21st annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place‐Kicker Awards Banquet on December 4th in West Palm Beach, Florida. The winner will be announced live on the Home Depot ESPN College Football Awards Show on Thursday, December 6th.

The award is named in honor of one of the all‐time great kickers in football history, Lou Groza. Groza played 21 seasons for the Cleveland Browns setting numerous franchise records, including most games played, most points scored, and an amazing 107 consecutive games in which he scored a point. Groza was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1974.

The Semifinalists in alphabetical order:
  • Brett Baer, Louisiana-Lafayette, senior
  • Casey Barth, North Carolina, senior
  • Chris Boswell, Rice, junior
  • Jeff Budzien, Northwestern, junior
  • Anthony Cantele, Kansas State, senior
  • Chandler Catanzaro, Clemson, junior
  • Brian Davis, Arkansas State, junior
  • Trey Farquhar, Idaho, senior
  • Brendan Gibbons, Michigan, junior
  • Dustin Hopkins, Florida State, senior
  • Michael Hunnicutt, Oklahoma, sophomore
  • Austin Lopez, San Jose State, freshman
  • Ross Martin, Duke, freshman
  • Mike Meyer, Iowa, junior
  • Jaden Oberkrom, TCU, freshman
  • Cairo Santos, Tulane, junior
  • Steven Schott, Ball State, senior
  • Quinn Sharp, Oklahoma State, senior
  • Jeremy Shelley, Alabama, senior
  • Caleb Sturgis, Florida, senior

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

excluding Maikon Bonani of USF seems like a bit of a snub

Post a Comment