the study of the kicking components within sports

Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Lou Groza Award 2012 Finalists

The national panel of college football experts assembled by the Palm Beach County Sports Commission has selected the three finalists for the 21st Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award.

The three Lou Groza Award finalists will be highlighted on ESPNU during The Home Depot College Football Awards Nomination Special airing Tuesday, Nov. 20 at 6 p.m. (EST). The 30-minute show, hosted by Matt Schick, will include player interviews and analysis from Kevin Carter surrounding finalists for the Lou Groza Award and other members of the National College Football Awards Association.   

Dustin Hopkins, Florida State (senior) 
Hopkins became the all-time leading scorer among kickers in FBS history on Saturday, surpassing Kyle Brotzman, who kicked at Boise State from 2007-10. Hopkins has 448 career points and a school-record 85 field goals. Hopkins is second nationally with 22 field goals and his .846 percentage (22-of-26) is third nationally among kickers with at least 20 attempts. Hopkins is 3-of-4 in attempts of at least 50 yards with a long of 56.
Cairo Santos, Tulane (junior)
Santos hails from Sao Paulo, Brazil, but prepped as an exchange student at St. Joseph's Academy in St. Augustine, Fla. This season, Santos has rewritten the Tulane record books and is one of three qualifying kickers who have yet to miss a field goal during 2012 campaign. Santos is a perfect 20-of-20 on his field goal attempts this season, including a 12-of-12 clip from 40-plus yards and two makes from beyond 50 yards. His 12 field goals of 40+ yards are two more than anyone in the nation and he has hit 24-of-25 PATs (his lone missed PAT was blocked). With one game remaining for Tulane, Santos has a chance to join 1996 Groza winner Marc Primanti as the only kickers in FBS history to stay perfect throughout a season in which they attempted 20 or more.
Caleb Sturgis, Florida (senior)
Sturgis was also up for the award for the nation’s top placekicker in 2011 while placing as a semifinalist in 2009.  The redshirt senior currently leads the Gators in scoring with 88 points this season and is 20-of-24 in field goals and 28-for-29 on point after attempts. The St. Augustine, Fla. native is currently one made field goal shy of tying the UF career-made field goals record set by Jeff Chandler from 1997-2001.  He currently leads the SEC in made field goals and field goal percentage (83.3) while ranking third in kicking scoring and fourth in overall scoring this season.  He connected on 51-yard field goals against Bowling Green and Tennessee to start the 2012 season.
This year’s Lou Groza Award winner will be revealed on ESPN during The Home Depot College Football Awards airing live from the Atlantic Dance Hall at Disney’s BoardWalk at the Walt Disney World Resort on Thursday, Dec. 6 at 7:30 p.m. (EST).

No comments:

Post a Comment