the study of the kicking components within sports

Monday, November 19, 2012

Ray Guy Award 2012 Finalists

The Augusta Sports Council has announced three finalists for the 2012 Ray Guy Award. The finalists were selected by a national voting body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) coaches, sports information directors, national media, and former Ray Guy Award winners. The voters will cast a second round of ballots to decide the winner. The candidates were evaluated on their overall statistics and contribution to the team.  Particular emphasis was placed on the punter’s net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20-yard line and percentage of punts not returned.

Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech (senior)
Allen currently leads in the nation in punting, averaging 48.12 yards per punt this season. That average is more than a yard better than any other punter. Allen has 19 punts of more than 50 yards including an 85-yard punt at New Mexico State, the longest punt in the nation from any punter this season. A Salem, Oregon native, Allen won the 2011 Ray Guy Award becoming the first punter from a non-AQ school to be named the nation’s top punter. No punter has ever won the Ray Guy Award more than once.  
Kyle Christy, Florida (sophomore)
In just his second season with the Gators, Christy has emerged as one of the top punters in the nation. Through10  games, the Brownsburg, Ind. native is fourth in the nation and leads the SEC in punting, averaging 46.3 yards per punt (58 punts, 2,685 yards). He had a career performance on Oct. 20 against South Carolina, where he set the UF single-game record with a 54.3 punt average in the game, the second-best single-season average this year, on seven punts for 380 yards. He also holds a season-long punt of 62 yards against the Gamecocks and three 60-plus yard punts in his career. 
Scott Kovanda, Ball State (senior)
Kovanda has 220 career punts for 9,029 yards and a 41.0 career average.  He ranks fourth all-time at Ball State in career punt yardage, fourth in career punts and third in career punt average. "Scott Kovanda has had an outstanding career here at Ball State both on and off the field," Ball State second-year head coach Pete Lembo says.  "It has been a pleasure to work with him closely the last two years.  I am pleased to see his accomplishments are being recognized despite having a relatively small number of opportunities to showcase his talent this season."
The three Ray Guy Award finalists will be highlighted on ESPNU during The Home Depot College Football Awards Nomination Special airing Tuesday, Nov. 20 at 6 p.m. (ET). The 30-minute show, hosted by Matt Schick, will include player interviews and analysis from Kevin Carter surrounding finalists for the Ray Guy Award and other members of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA).

This year’s Ray Guy Award winner will be revealed on ESPN during The Home Depot College Football Awards airing live from the Atlantic Dance Hall at Disney’s BoardWalk at the Walt Disney World Resort on Thursday, Dec. 6 at 7:30 p.m. (ET).

No comments:

Post a Comment