the study of the kicking components within sports

Wednesday, July 10, 2013

Lou Groza Award 2013 Preseason Watch List

The Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award announced the 2013 Preseason Watch List. Kickers on the Lou Groza Award Watch List were chosen based on statistics from the 2012 season and 2013 expectations. Ten conferences are represented among the 30 kickers, led by four each from the ACC, Big Ten, Conference USA and the MAC, while the Mountain West placed three representatives. The American, Big 12, Pac-12, SEC and the Sun Belt each had two kickers recognized, along with independent Notre Dame. 

While the Watch List highlights thirty of the best returning kickers in the country, Cairo Santos, who was not on the 2012 Watch List, stands as proof that the Groza Committee will be watching all FBS kickers during the season. Accomplishments are tabulated throughout the season and the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award will announce its 20 semifinalists on Monday, November 4th. From this list, a panel of more than 300 FBS head coaches, SIDs, media members, and former winners selects the top three finalists for the award by Monday, November 25th. That same group then selects the national winner, who will be announced on Thursday, December 12th during the Home Depot College Football Awards. 
  • Chris Boswell, Rice
  • Kyle Brindza, Notre Dame
  • Jeff Budzien, Northwestern
  • Chandler Catanzaro, Clemson
  • Brian Davis, Arkansas State
  • Jeremiah Detmer, Toledo
  • Nick Diaz, Utah State
  • Mitch Ewald, Indiana
  • Nate Freese, Boston College
  • Andrew Furney, Washington State
  • Brendan Gibbons, Michigan
  • Warren Harvey, East Carolina
  • Michael Hunnicutt, Oklahoma
  • Cody Journell, Virginia Tech
  • Ty Long, UAB
  • Austin Lopez, San Jose State
  • Ross Martin, Duke
  • Mike Meyer, Iowa
  • Tony MIliano, Cincinnati
  • Dylan Mulder, Eastern Michigan
  • Jaden Oberkrom, TCU
  • Cody Parkey, Auburn
  • Kaleb Patterson, Miami of Ohio
  • Jared Roberts, Colorado State
  • Trevor Romaine, Oregon State
  • Cairo Santos,Tulane
  • Will Scott, Troy
  • Mathew Sims, Northern Illinois
  • Carey Spear, Vanderbilt
  • John Wallace, Louisville

    No comments:

    Post a Comment