the study of the kicking components within sports

Wednesday, September 4, 2013

College Special Teams Players of the Week 1, 2013

The following kickers and punters have been named Special Teams Players of the Week by their respective conference for the first week of the 2013 college football season. 

No slight intended to any returners that received such honors, but our focus (as always) is on the kicking end of things.

AAC - Houston punter/kicker Richie Leone 
Big Sky - Southern Utah kicker Colton Cook
Big Ten - Penn State kicker Sam Ficken 
FBS Independent - BYU punter Scott Arellano
Frontier - Carroll College punter Rhys Felton
MAC West - Northern Illinois kicker Mathew Sims
MEAC - Morgan State punter Lawrence Forbes
MEAC - South Carolina State punter Nick Belcher
MVFC - South Dakota kicker/punter Miles Bergner
MWC - Fresno State kicker Colin McGuire
NEC - Bryant kicker Tom Alberti
OUA - Guelph kicker Daniel Ferraro
NSAA - Valley City State kicker Thomas Cortez 
Pac-12 - California kicker Vincenzo D’Amato
PFL - Mercer kicker Josh Shutter 
Sun Belt - Troy kicker Will Scott 
SWAC - Texas Southern punter Cory Carter

Lou Groza Award
  • Niklas Sade, North Carolina State
  • Will Oliver, Colorado
  • Wes Feer, San Diego State
Beyond Sports Network
  • FBS kicker: Wes Feer, San Diego State
  • FBS punter: Ben Skaer, New Mexico
  • FCS kicker: Jamin Godfrey, Tennessee State
  • FCS punter: Nick Liste, Youngstown State
  • NAIA kicker: Zach Keenan, Benedictine (KS)
  • NAIA punter: Marcus Kerrigan, William Penn
College Football Performance Awards
  • FBS placekicker: Niklas Sade, North Carolina State
  • FBS specialist: Riche Leone, Houston
  • FBS punter: Drew Kaser, Texas A&M
  • FCS placekicker: Colton Cooke, Southern Utah
  • FCS placekicker: Bobby Wenzig, Alabama State
  • FCS punter: Stephen Shaw, Montana

If we missed someone that should be on the above list, please let us know!

No comments:

Post a Comment