the study of the kicking components within sports

Monday, October 21, 2013

College Special Teams Players of the Week 8, 2013

The following kickers and punters have been named Special Teams Players of the Week by their respective conference for the eighth week of the 2013 college football season. 

No slight intended to any returners that received such honors, but our focus (as always) is on the kicking end of things.

ACS - Mary Hardin-Baylor punter Chad Peevey 
Big Sky - Montana State kicker/punter Rory Perez 
Big Ten - Indiana kicker Mitch Ewald
CAA - Rhode Island kicker Dylan Smith
ECAC - Temple punter Paul Layton 
ECFC - Norwich kicker Wesley Medeiros 
Empire 8 - Salisbury kicker Zak Osborne
Frontier - Rocky Mountain College kicker Ryan Steska
GLVC - Truman State punter Jacob Lamp
KCAC - Southwestern kicker Chris Mayer
MASCAC - Plymouth State punter/DB Chris Smith 
MEAC- Hampton kicker Anthony Prevost
MIAA - Emporia State kicker Eli Kuhns
MVFC - Youngstown State punter Nick Liste
NEC - Duquesne punter Aaron Fleck
NEFC - MIT kicker Tucker Cheyne
NESCAC - Wesleyan kicker Sebastian Aguirre 
NSAA - Mayville State kicker Dylan Torgerson
NSIC - University of Mary kicker/punter Tyler Ryan
Pac-12 - Arizona State kicker Zane Gonzalez
RMAC - CSU-Pueblo kicker Greg O'Donnell 
SAC - Mars Hill kicker Victor Yurco
SCAC - Trine kicker Kevin Wise
SEC - Tennessee kicker Michael Palardy

Lou Groza Award
  • Roberto Aguayo, Florida State
  • Andrew Baggett, Missouri
  • Michael Palardy, Tennessee
Ray Guy Award
  •  Richie Leone, Houston
Beyond Sports Network
  • FBS kicker: Andrew Baggett, Missouri
  • FBS punter: Sean Covington, UCLA
  • FCS kicker: Dylan Smith, Rhode Island
  • FCS punter:Ben LeCompte, North Dakota State
  • Division II kicker: Mario Diaz-Aviles, Bowie State
  • Division II punter: Brandon Kliesen, CSU-Pueblo
  • Division III kicker: Moses Villareal Gomez, Pacific
  • Division III punter: Tyler Wyman, Willamette
  • NAIA kicker: Michael Brewer, MidAmerica Nazarene
  • NAIA punter: David DeHarde, Langston
College Football Performance Awards
  • FBS placekicker: Aaron Jones, Baylor
  • FBS specialist: Andrew Baggett, Missouri
  • FBS punter: Drew Kaser, Texas A&M
  • FCS placekicker: Dylan Smith, Rhode Island
  • FCS punter: Roy Perez, Montana State
  • FCS punter: Kasey Redfern, Wofford
If we missed someone that should be on the above list, please let us know!

No comments:

Post a Comment