the study of the kicking components within sports

Monday, November 25, 2013

Lou Groza Award 2013 Finalists

The national panel of college football experts assembled by the Palm Beach County Sports Commission has selected the three finalists for the 22nd Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award.

The three Lou Groza Award finalists will be highlighted on ESPNU during The Home Depot College Football Awards Nomination Special airing Tuesday, Nov. 26th at 5:30 p.m. (EST).

Roberto Aguayo, Florida State (freshman) 
'The strong-legged kicker has been sensational as Dustin Hopkins' replacement. Aguayo is 15-of-16 on field-goal attempts this season and currently owns the national record for consecutive extra points made with a streak that is at 80 in a row and counting.'
“It’s a special moment. I’ve done what I came here to do, and I expected to do big things.”
Anthony Fera, Texas (senior) 
'Fera has connected on 17 of 18 field goal attempts this season (.944 percentage is ranked first nationally among kickers with at least 15 attempts) and is a perfect 39 for 39 on extra points. He has hit his last 13 FGA, the fourth longest current streak in the FBS. Fera's 94.4% FG accuracy is on pace to be the best for a season in UT history and is the third-best mark nationally. He ranks 9th nationally with 1.7 field goals per game and 20th nationally in scoring with 8.9 points per game.'
Marvin Kloss, South Florida (junior) 
'Kloss is 14-for-18 on field goals attempts overall, including  4-of-6 from 50 yards or more, and 13-for-13 in PAT attempts. He’s accounted for 39 percent of USF’s scoring this season and scored all 21 of USF’s offensive points in its 2-0 American conference start. Kloss, a two-time AAC Special Teams Player of the Week selection, is fifth in the AAC and 24th in the nation with an average of 1.4 field goals per game.'
“It’s a great honor. I wouldn’t be in this position without my teammates, the big guys blocking up front, the great snapper, David Berdetsky, and a great holder in Mattias Ciabatti. I’d also like to thank the coaches because without them I wouldn’t have an opportunity to go for some of those longer field goals. I love that coach (Willie) Taggart has trust in me.”
This year’s Lou Groza Award winner will be revealed on ESPN during The Home Depot College Football Awards airing live from the Atlantic Dance Hall at Disney’s BoardWalk at the Walt Disney World Resort on Thursday, Dec. 12th at 7:00 p.m. (EST).

No comments:

Post a Comment