the study of the kicking components within sports

Monday, November 4, 2013

Lou Groza Award 2013 Semifinalists

Press release from The Palm Beach County Sports Commission: the 20 kickers listed below have been named semifinalists for the 2013 Lou Groza Collegiate Place‐Kicker Award presented by the Orange Bowl Committee. These twenty kickers have all excelled throughout the season in earning their places as semifinalists.

Semifinalists will be voted on by FBS Head Coaches and SIDs, past Groza finalists, and national and regional football writers to select the three finalists. These finalists will be announced on November 25th and honored at the 22nd annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Awards Banquet on December 10th in West Palm Beach, Florida. The winner will be announced live on ESPN at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Thursday, December 12th

The award is named in honor of one of the all-time great kickers in football history, Lou Groza. Groza played 21 seasons for the Cleveland Browns setting numerous franchise records, including most games played, most points scored, and an amazing 107 consecutive games in which he scored a point. Groza was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1974

The Semifinalists in alphabetical order:
  • Roberto Aguayo – Florida State
  • Jeff Budzien – Northwestern
  • Ryan Bustin – Texas Tech
  • Brad Craddock – Maryland
  • Vincenzo D’Amato - California
  • Brian Davis – Arkansas State
  • Jeremiah Detmer – Toledo
  • Jake Elliott – Memphis
  • Anthony Fera – Texas
  • Zane Gonzalez – Arizona State
  • Chase Hover – SMU
  • Michael Hunnicutt – Oklahoma
  • Marvin Kloss – South Florida
  • Shawn Moffitt – Central Florida
  • Marshall Morgan – Georgia
  • Will Oliver – Colorado
  • Andy Phillips – Utah
  • Jared Roberts – Colorado State
  • Niklas Sade – North Carolina State 
  • Cairo Santos – Tulane

No comments:

Post a Comment