the study of the kicking components within sports

Thursday, November 6, 2014

Lou Groza Award 2014 Semifinalists

Press release: The Palm Beach County Sports Commission has released the 20 semifinalists for the 2014 Lou Groza Collegiate Place‐Kicker Award presented by the Orange Bowl Committee. These twenty kickers have all excelled throughout the season in earning their places as semifinalists.

Semifinalists will be voted on by FBS Head Coaches and SIDs, past Groza finalists, and national and regional football writers to select the three finalists. These finalists will be announced on November 24th and honored at the 23rd annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Awards Banquet on December 9th in West Palm Beach, Florida. The winner will be announced live on ESPN at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Thursday, December 11th.

The award is named in honor of one of the all-time great kickers in football history, Lou Groza. Groza played 21 seasons for the Cleveland Browns setting numerous franchise records, including most games played, most points scored, and an amazing 107 consecutive games in which he scored a point. Groza was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1974.

The Semifinalists in alphabetical order: 
  • Corey Acosta, Southern Miss
  • Roberto Aguayo, Florida State 
  • Kyle Bullard, Houston
  • Will Conant, Air Force
  • Brad Craddock, Maryland
  • Sam Ficken, Penn State
  • Elliott Fry, South Carolina
  • Ian Frye, Virginia
  • Andrew Gantz, Cincinnati
  • Zane Gonzalez, Arizona State
  • Ben Grogan, Oklahoma State
  • Ammon Lakip, Clemson
  • Josh Lambert, West Virginia
  • Justin Manton, UL-Monroe
  • Ross Martin, Duke   
  • Cole Murphy, Syracuse
  • Jaden Oberkrom, TCU
  •  Andy Phillips, Utah
  • Scott Secor, Ball State
  • John Wallace, Louisville  

No comments:

Post a Comment