the study of the kicking components within sports

Saturday, January 10, 2015

2014 MAC Hermann Trophy Winners

MEN's - Leo Stolz, UCLA
"Stolz becomes the third UCLA player to be named National Player of the Year and first since the MAC Player of the Year award and the Hermann Trophy merged in 2002. The Bruins’ past winners were Sasha Victorine who won the MAC Player of the Year award in 1999 and Brad Friedel who won the Hermann Trophy in 1992. Stolz, who was also a finalist for the MAC Hermann trophy last season, earned consensus first team All-American honors for the second-straight season from the Pac-12, NSCAA, College Soccer News and Top Drawer Soccer. The two-year team captain started all 24 games for the Bruins, leading the team in goals (9) and points (24), while tying for the lead in assists (6). A native of Munich, Germany, Stolz logged 2,054 minutes and recorded points in 11 of his 24 matches. In the postseason, Stolz recorded two goals and two assists, including the overtime game-winner in the second round against San Diego on Nov. 23. Stolz was an instrumental player in the midfield for UCLA during the College Cup Final Four, earning All-Tournament team honors for his efforts. Stolz finishes his three-year UCLA career with 20 goals, 22 assists and 62 points in 63 appearances (60 starts). The senior led the Bruins to three-straight NCAA Tournament appearances, including a trip to the College Cup Finals in 2014. Additionally, Stolz earned Pac-12 Conference Player of the Year last season after leading the conference with 30 points. Upon conclusion of his collegiate career, Stolz was invited to the 2015 Major League Soccer Combine and will look to possibly continue his career professionally in the United States." - Bruins

WOMEN's - Morgan Brian, Virginia
Brian, who also won the award last year, became just the fourth woman to repeat as the recipient of collegiate soccer's most prestigious award.... 'I want to thank my teammates and coaching staff and Virginia, because this honor belongs to them too,' said Brian. 'This award means a lot. When you hear the list of previous winners and you know what they have accomplished, to be part of that group, especially as a two-time winner, is an incredible honor. This a great way to end my college career.' Brian, who was also named the National Player of the Year for the second consecutive season, had 10 goals and 14 assists in 2014, appearing in 18 games as the Cavaliers reached the NCAA final for the first time. The first three-time NSCAA First-Team All-American in Virginia history, she was named the 2014 U.S. Soccer Young Female Athlete of the Year. Brian missed eight games this season because of international duty as she was the only collegiate player on the United States Women's National Team for the CONCACAF World Cup Qualifying tournament in October. Upon her return to the lineup, she was the leading scorer in this year's NCAA Tournament with four goals and nine assists, including tying the NCAA Tournament single-game record with five assists in the 8-0 first-round victory over High Point. Brian joins Mia Hamm of North Carolina (1992 and 1993), Cindy Parlow of North Carolina (1997 and 1998) and Christine Sinclair of Portland (2004 and 2005) as the only repeat female winners of Hermann Trophy. Kerri Hanks of Notre Dame also won it twice, in 2006 and 2008, but not consecutively." - Cavaliers

No comments:

Post a Comment