the study of the kicking components within sports

Saturday, January 10, 2015

Sebastian Janikowski Wins 1999 Lou Groza Award

"Sebastian Janikowski became the first two-time winner of the Lou Groza Award in 1999. Janikowski was successful on 23 of 30 field goal attempts and was perfect on 47 extra points tries, leading his Florida State Seminoles to the National Championship. He booted five field goals in a game against North Carolina State and hit the game-winner against Clemson in a 17-14 victory. After the season, Janikowski decided to forego his senior year of eligibility and entered the NFL Draft, where the Oakland Raiders took him with the 17th pick of the first round of the 2000 Draft. He ended his career in Tallahassee as the third-leading scorer in FSU history with 324 points." - Groza Award

"Janikowski, who led the nation with 23 field goals in 30 attempts, beat out Wisconsin's Vitaly Pisetsky and Kansas State's Jamie Rheem. Last year, Janikowski was unable to attend the banquet because of finals. And he was nearly a no-show again, arriving just in time to accept the award. Rather than fly to West Palm Beach on a state plane, he drove. 'It was worth the drive,' he said. 'I'm sorry I missed last season'." - ESPN

No comments:

Post a Comment